Texas Opioid Abatement Fund Council This public meeting of the Council was hosted on WebEx and in Room 1011 of the LBJ State Office Building.

Minutes from the August 7, 2024, Council Meeting

Pursuant to the notice of a public meeting, filed with and posted by the Office of the Secretary of State on July 25, 2024, Comptroller Glenn Hegar called the meeting of the Texas Opioid Abatement Fund Council ("Council") to order at 10:03 a.m., on Wednesday, August 7, 2024.

Members Present:

Comptroller Glenn Hegar
Emmanuel Elueze, M.D.
Robert Guevara, M.D.
Lori K. Holleran Steiker, Ph.D., A.C.S.W.
John G. Mills, D.O.
J. Douglas Thornton, Pharm.D., Ph.D., B.C.P.S.
Katherine L. Yoder, M.B.A.
Carrie de Moor, M.D.
Sanjay P. Patel, M.D.
James Muns, M.D.
Pedro J. Fernandez, M.D.
John "Scott" Milton, M.D.

Members Absent: Denise Wilkes, M.D., Ph.D., Ronald P. "Ronnie" Enriquez, Jr.

The Comptroller noted that a quorum was present for the Council to conduct the business posted in the notice of the meeting.

There being a quorum present, the following business was discussed:

The Comptroller presented the minutes of the March 20, 2024, Council meeting for approval. Dr. Mills moved to adopt the minutes and Ms. Yoder seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

At 10:23 a.m., the Council moved into executive session to receive legal advice from its attorneys concerning Texas Attorney General Opinion KP-0466 and Government Code Chapter 572 conflict of interest statutes and applications for the Naloxone Program Grant. The Council reconvened in open session at 10:45 a.m.

The Comptroller opened discussion and possible action on applications for the Naloxone Program Grant. Dr. Mills would like the Council to seriously consider having three peer reviewers in the future. Dr. Mills moved to 1) award the Opioid Abatement Fund Council's Naloxone Program Grant of up to \$25 million to University Health, 2) designate Texas A&M University Health Science Center as an alternate to University Health, 3) Deny the remaining applicants from further

consideration, and 4) authorize staff to take all actions necessary and implied to implement this decision and Dr. Thornton seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The Comptroller thanked the Council, the applicants, and all the staff for all the work.

The Comptroller called on Nikki Cobb to provide updates on the Short-Term Strategies and Research Working Group. Ms. Cobb provided an update that in April, the Short-Term Strategies and Research Working Group provided feedback on the peer review scoring evaluation criteria, and these comments were incorporated into the final document, which was shared with the peer reviewers.

The Comptroller called on Ms. Cobb, who presented administrative support and implementation efforts for Council.

The Comptroller called on Ms. Cobb, who presented the FY 2024 revenue and expenditures from settlement agreements and court orders.

The Comptroller announced that the next Council meeting will be in the fall pending more information on grant agreement execution to have something substantive to report to the Council.

Dr. Fernandez moved to adjourn the meeting. Dr. Holleran Steiker seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 11:12 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,